By Brittany Nelson, USAS Public Relations & Communications Manager

COLO SPRGS, CO (June 20, 2023) – Timothy Sherry, USA Shooting National Rifle team member, earned three gold medals at the 300m National Championships May 23-27, in Elk River, Minnesota, at the Minneapolis Rifle Club.

Sherry, a sergeant in the Army’s Marksmanship Unit, earned gold in Men’s Three-Position, Men’s Prone, and Standard Rifle.

“It’s a great feeling being able to win all three of my events at 300m Nationals,” said Sherry, an Evergreen, Colorado, native. “I performed well throughout the week and was able to make improvements as the competition went on.”

Compared to the 2022 competition, Sherry tripled his amount of gold medals. In 2022 he earned gold in Free Rifle, silver in Standard Rifle, and bronze in Men’s Prone.

The 300m Rifle discipline consists of Men’s and Women’s Three-Positions events, a Prone position event, and a Standard Rifle event. In the three-position event, 20 shots are fired from each position, kneeling, standing, and prone. In prone, all 60 shots are fired from the prone position. Standard rifle also consists of 20 shots fired from each of the three different positions, but the regulations are stricter than the three-position event and few adjustments can be made to the gun between positions.

300m Rifle, formerly known as Free Rifle, was shot at the Olympic Games up until 1970 and is still currently shot at the International Shooting Sports Federation World Championships. American shooting legends Lones Wigger and Margaret Murdock dominated the podium in the event at various international competitions throughout the 1960s and 1970s.

See below for all medalists from the 300m National Champions:

Women’s Three-Position

Gold: Megan Hilbish

Silver: Denise Loring

Bronze: Abigail Winegarden


Men’s Three-Position

Gold: Timothy Sherry

Silver: Bradley Yliniemi

Bronze: Gordan Taras


Women’s Prone

Gold: Megan Hilbish

Silver: Denise Loring

Bronze: Michelle Bohren


Men’s Prone

Gold: Timothy Sherry

Silver: Lucas Erwin

Bronze: Nathaniel Guernsey


Standard Rifle

Gold: Timothy Sherry

Silver: Megan Hilbish

Bronze: Bradley Yliniemi