By Brittany Nelson, USAS Public Relations & Communications Manager

COLO SPRGS, CO (July 11, 2023) – An elite group of USA Shooting junior athletes are headed to Changwon, Korea, July 14-25, to compete in the 2023 International Shooting Sports Federation (ISSF) Junior World Championship.

An ISSF junior athlete is classified as an athlete 21 and under. Athletes will remain juniors until the 31st of December of the year in which they become 21 years of age. Any athlete born between the 1st of January and the 31st of December, will cease to be a junior on the 31st of December of that year.

In 2022, junior athletes brought home a total of nine medals at the ISSF World Championship, three gold, one silver, and five bronze. They also saw many notable top ten finishes after making a handful of finals.

The junior athletes also had a strong showing at the 2022 Championship of the Americas Games. Suman Sanghera earned a gold medal and an Olympic quota for the U.S. in Women’s 10m Air Pistol and Katie Zaun earned a bronze medal in Women’s 50m 3 Position Rifle.

The ISSF 2022 World Championship also included open age categories. The last ISSF Junior World Championship was held in 2021 and USA Shooting earned a grand total of 21 medals; seven gold, eight silver, and six bronze.

See the official 2023 roster below:


Junior Men’s Pistol

Nathan Bae: Air Pistol, Sport Pistol

Marcus Klemp: Air Pistol

William Regala: Rapid Fire Pistol, Sport Pistol

Mark Shen: Air Pistol, Rapid Fire Pistol, Sport Pistol

Remington Smith: Air Pistol

Austin Stone: Rapid Fire Pistol


Junior Women’s Pistol

Chloe Bae: Air Pistol

Ankita Deokule: Air Pistol, Sport Pistol

Rachel Kim: Air Pistol

Ada Korkhin: Air Pistol, Sport Pistol

Abbie Leverett: Sport Pistol

Emily Yoder: Sport Pistol



Junior Men’s Rifle

Gavin Barnick: Air Rifle, Smallbore Rifle

James Hart: Smallbore Rifle

Braden Peiser: Air Rifle, Smallbore Rifle

Tyler Wee: Air Rifle, Smallbore Rifle


Junior Women’s Rifle

Rachael Charles: Air Rifle, Smallbore Rifle

Peninah D’Souza: Air Rifle

Lauren Hurley: Smallbore Rifle

Alivia Perkins: Smallbore Rifle

Elizabeth Probst: Air Rifle, Smallbore Rifle

Katie Zaun: Air Rifle, Smalbore Rifle



Junior Men’s Shotgun

William Browning: Trap

Owen Bin: Trap

Caleb Cutler: Trap

Ramsey Bodeen: Trap

Matthew Kutz: Trap

Aidin Burns: Skeet

Josh Corbin: Skeet

Kyle Fleck: Skeet

Ben Keller: Skeet

Jordan Sapp: Skeet


Junior Women’s Shotgun

Kaleigh Castillo: Trap

Ava Downs: Trap

Taylor Dale: Trap

Carey Garrison: Trap

Ryann Phillips: Trap

Madeline Corbin: Skeet

Jessi Griffin: Skeet

Alishia Fayth Layne: Skeet

Julia Nelson: Skeet

Karsyn Ross: Skeet


Follow @USAShooting on social media to keep up with our athletes during the competition.



About USA Shooting

USA Shooting, a 501(c)(3) non-profit corporation was chartered by the United States Olympic and Paralympic Committee as the National Governing Body for the Olympic Shooting Sports in April 1995. The organization develops and implements programs to promote growth in the sport and serves as a sanctioning body for local and national competitions. Headquartered in Colorado Springs, Colorado, at the US Olympic and Paralympic Training Center, USA Shooting has a full-time staff dedicated to our sport.